The Consortium of State Organizations for Texas Teacher Education


TACTE is an organization for deans of education in Texas and is sometimes referred to as the Council of Deans of Education. Its purpose is to stimulate improvement in the education of professional school personnel in Texas with a primary goal to provide, through professional organization and cooperation, for a continuous search for the promotion of ideas and practices which are most effective in the education of teachers and to promote effective teaching and quality education through efforts to improve teacher education, the teaching profession, and the schools. This is in harmony with the objectives of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education and the member teacher preparation institutions as they apply in and for the State of Texas.

2016-2017 Officers

Dr. Judy Abbott
Stephen F. Austin State University
SFA Box 13023
Nacogdoches, TX 75962
Work:  936-468-1410
Fax: 936-468-1475

Past President:
Dr. Shari Albright

Trinity University
One Trinity Place, #83
San Antonio, TX  8212
Work:  210-999-7501
Fax:  210-999-7592

Dr. Denise Staudt
University of the Incarnate Word
4301 Broadway, CPO 16
San Antonio, TX 78209
Work:  210-283-5028
Fax: 210-829-3134

Dr. Stacey Edmonson
Sam Houston State University
PO Box 2119 SHSU
Huntsville, TX 77341
Work:  936-294-1101
Fax: 936-294-1102

Dr. John Miazga
Angelo State University
ASU Station #10914
San Angelo, TX 76909
Work: 325-942-2212
Fax: 325-942-2039

ACSR Representative:
Dr. Mary Martin Patton
Texas Christian University
TCU Box 297900
Fort Worth, TX 76129
Work: 817-587-7663
Fax: 817-257-5525

Executive Director:
Ginny Fender
P. O. Box 130068
Tyler, Texas 75713
Work: 903-530-8717
Fax: 903-566-7036

2016-2017 Standing Committees

Texas Education Boards / Agencies Committee:                    ​
     President: Judy Abbott
     President Elect: Denise Straudt
     Executive Director: Ginny Fender
     Association SBEC: TBD
     Association TEA: TBD

The Awards Committee:
Jerry Whitworth, Texas Woman's University
     Judy Radigan, Rice University
     Jordan Barkley, Tarleton State University

Legislative Committee:
     Stan Carpenter, Texas State University
     Frank Hernandez, The University of Texas of the Permian Basin
     Matthew Capps, Midwestern University
     Ruth Kane, Huston-Tillotson University

Nominating Committee
     Mark Shermis, University of Houston-Clear Lake
     Sharon Evans, University of Texas
     Perry Kay Brown, Hardin-Simmons University

Resources and Downloads

Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/92/5844792/tmp/sess_5m4cd55nesn43clo8db6f59ii6, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0