The Consortium of State Organizations for Texas Teacher Education


The purpose of the TDFE is to provide:

  • a forum for sharing ideas and common concerns among the directors of educational field experiences in the colleges and universities of the State of Texas,
  • an organizational framework for cooperative action toward improving the quality of educational field experiences by interacting with various organizations, institutions, and agencies, and
  • a communication network through which members may act quickly and in concert on issues relating to educational field experiences.
2017-2019 Officers

Term of Office: The nominating committee presents a slate of nominees at the fall meeting in even-numbered years. Officers are elected at that meeting and the terms of their office commence at the next June Brown Bag meeting in odd-numbered years.

Gayle Butaud
​Lamar University
P.O. Box 10034
Beaumont, Texas 77710
Office: 409-880-8033

Past President:
Sara Langford
3507 Wyatt Lane
Texarkana, Texas 75503

President Elect:
Tim Sutton
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle #311337
Denton, Texas 76203-5017
Office: 940-565-3589

Tia Agan
Angelo State University
ASU Station 10914
San Angelo, TX 76909
Office: 325-486-6609

Michelle Williams-Laing
Texas Woman's University
P.O. Box 425769
Denton, Texas 76204-5769
Office: 940-898-2223

2016-2017 Student Teacher
of the Year Committee
Janet Williams
Sam Houston State University
Box 2119
Huntsville, TX
Office: 936-294-3571

Student Teacher of the Year Committee Members:
Barbara Ashmore - University of Texas-Dallas -
Paula Hussey - Lamar University -

Conferences and Meetings

The TDFE will meet in June 5, 2017, at Concordia University (see linked information).


TDFE membership is composed of those individuals in public and private educational institutions in the State of Texas who are responsible for administration and coordination of the program of educational field experiences in their respective institutions and who pay the annual dues assessed by the organization.

Dues from qualifying individuals of $20.00 can be submitted to the Treasurer at any time. Our membership year runs from one CSOTTE Conference to the next year's conference.  For membership information, email Michele Williams-Laing,

Texas Clinical Teacher Award Application (PDF)

Submit 2016-2017 Texas Clinical Teacher Award application materials no later than May 12, 2017, to:
Janet Williams
Sam Houston State University
Box 2119
Huntsville, TX 77341

Resources and Downloads
National Field Directors Forum

The National Field Directors Forum is an Affiliated Unit of the Association of Teacher Educators.

The National Field Directors Forum (NFDF) is dedicated to developing quality field experiences, student teaching, and internships assignments. Membership is comprised of educators who have administrative responsibilities in this area without regard to title, rank, or size of program. The Forum provides leadership in the area of professional field experiences.

Click here to visit the National Field Directors Forum website.